Metadata for Findability

Does it make sense to add metadata to information for the sake of findability? Historically, it definitely did. Before the age of digitally available text and full text search, there was no other means to provide access to large amounts of information. Librarians filed books under their author, title, keywords etc. Today, descriptors – keywords, subject headings, tags etc. – seem to have difficulties making the transition to the 21st century. Is this justified? Let’s take a look at some examples I noted recently which doubted the effectiveness of descriptors.

Kumarkamal on Basics of Search Engine Optimization warns «Don’t waste your time on meta tags», pointing out that search engines largely ignore descriptors.

Mathew Ingram raises the question «Who bookmarks anymore?» He states that, instead of consulting his bookmarks, «[i]f I’m writing about something and I remember some details, I type them into Google and eventually track the page down.» In a review of the social bookmarking service Qitera, tech blog netzwertig even claims that «[Schlagwörter] sind nämlich im Prinzip nicht mehr als ein Ausgleich für den Mangel an intelligenten Suchmöglichkeiten», i.e. in principle, keywords are nothing but a compensation for the lack of possiblities for intelligent search.

What are the points at issue? Search engines ignore descriptors because of bias. Descriptors added by humans are biased – almost necessarily so. To give the gist of a text, you need to focus on some parts and omit others. In addition to this «immanent» bias, descriptors are often selected to influence search engine ranking. This leads to less reliable search results. Google first became famous because it developed algorithms to encounter exactly this problem: Google’s ranking was based on reliability. Links to a page were interpreted as an indication that a site provided valuable and trustworthy information. Google introduced taking the context of a site into account in its search algorithm. But descriptors, being metadata, i.e. data «outside» the data, lack context, or rather, their context is not taken into account for by search engines.

The second example, on the other hand, is that of a highly contextual search. Ingram remembers the item he is looking for («I remember some details»), can formulate a precise query and easily decide which is the document he has been looking for. With all this information given, typing keywords into Google is a highly efficient search strategy bound to retrieve excellent results – why bother to reduce the document to keywords? In addition to that, searching for keywords would most probably return too many documents in this case. The strength of descriptors is recall, not precision. Again, this particularly holds true for descriptors lacking context. Of course, this doesn’t apply to all descriptors, but human language tends to be ambiguous without context.

In order to deliver useful results for search, descriptors need to be re-contextualized. Basically, there are two ways of including context: adding information or reducing information to a well-defined scope. The first is what machines do well. Search engines can analyze vast amounts of information, find patterns, match items etc. Human beings usually prefer the second method: They reduce complexity by resorting to subjects with (more or less) clear outlines, and particularly to reliable environments. If the creator of a record is known and trusted, or if there is sufficient evidence that this is the case (e.g. by recommendation of a trusted person), then a record’s content can be taken to be trustworthy. The reduction of the data taken into account for a search to a trusted environment greatly improves precision. The price of diminished recall is negligable in this case. Of course, the bias mentioned previously can play a role, but through knowledge of its context, it can be put into perspective.

In the following posts, I’d like to look at some examples of the use of descriptors which take context into account, in delimited areas as well as by analysis of additional data. What I won’t be doing – though I did plan this initially – is to compare the effectiveness of full text search and search in metadata. I did find a few indications in library science literature – none of them conclusive – and I believe now that the comparison is not a legitimate one. Too much depends on what a user is looking for and which data he searches in, and how well he is familiar with particular sources. So the question is simply if descriptors can be powerful for findability, and under which circumstances.

26 Responses to “Metadata for Findability”


  1. 1 help in the bedroom March 30, 2014 at 1:56

    Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

  2. 2 acai berries April 4, 2014 at 7:47

    I think this is among the most vital information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark
    on some general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles
    is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  3. 3 baldness treatment April 5, 2014 at 0:47

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  4. 4 using a pill to help with sex April 10, 2014 at 8:10

    I pay a visit each day a few web pages and sites to read posts,
    except this webpage provides quality based content.

  5. 5 acai berry April 10, 2014 at 13:03

    I always used to study paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user
    of internet thus from now I am using net
    for posts, thanks to web.

  6. 6 using a pill to help with baldness April 10, 2014 at 17:43

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information.
    I am satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  7. 7 Tatiana April 13, 2014 at 20:32

    Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you are
    even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  8. 8 using a pill to help with sex April 14, 2014 at 3:51

    Amazing issues here. I’m very happy to look your article.
    Thank you so much and I am having a look forward to contact
    you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  9. 9 Guillermo April 15, 2014 at 5:33

    Hello, this weekend is pleasant in favor of me, as this occasion i am reading this impressive educational piece
    of writing here at my house.

  10. 10 online Pharmacy April 16, 2014 at 10:34

    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your
    articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.
    However think about if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this
    site could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field.

    Amazing blog!

  11. 11 acai berries April 16, 2014 at 21:48

    I think the admin of this website is in fact working hard in favor of
    his web page, because here every information is
    quality based material.

  12. 12 Champix April 17, 2014 at 2:26

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.

    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang
    of it!

  13. 13 Morris April 17, 2014 at 2:51

    Hi there, its good post regarding media print, we all know media is
    a fantastic source of facts.

  14. 14 Chemist Direct Healthcare Products April 23, 2014 at 4:30

    I’m not sure why but this website is loading extremely slow for
    me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?

    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  15. 15 natural slimming tablets April 23, 2014 at 8:15

    Hi I am so grateful I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks
    for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment
    but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the
    awesome b.

  16. 16 bio oil online April 23, 2014 at 21:03

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise.

    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

  17. 17 tick and flea treatment for dogs April 26, 2014 at 8:45

    Right here is the right webpage for everyone who really wants to find out about this
    topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I
    personally would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin
    on a topic that has been discussed for decades. Excellent
    stuff, just wonderful!

  18. 18 Chemist Direct Healthcare Products April 30, 2014 at 6:22

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and paragraph is actually
    fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these content.

  19. 19 online doctor UK May 2, 2014 at 19:22

    I get pleasure from, lead to I discovered exactly what I was having a look for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  20. 20 tick and flea treatment for dogs May 4, 2014 at 16:23

    Remarkable! Its really remarkable post, I have got
    much clear idea on the topic of from this piece of writing.

  21. 21 Chemist Direct Healthcare Products May 5, 2014 at 3:16

    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  22. 22 using a pill to help with sex May 5, 2014 at 11:14

    May I just say what a relief to discover someone that really understands what they’re discussing on the net.
    You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More people need to read this and understand this side of your
    story. It’s surprising you aren’t more popular given that you most certainly have the gift.

  23. 23 premature ejaculation May 5, 2014 at 20:45

    I create a comment when I especially enjoy a post on a website or I
    have something to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s triggered by the sincerness communicated in the post I looked at.
    And on this post Metadata for Findability | Information Access.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 😉 I do have a couple
    of questions for you if it’s okay. Is it just me
    or does it look as if like a few of the comments look like written by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to
    keep up with you. Could you make a list the complete urls of your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or
    linkedin profile?

  24. 24 Jacinto May 6, 2014 at 22:46

    I do not write a bunch of responses, however after looking
    at a ton of responses here Metadata for Findability | Information
    Access. I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be only me or does it look like a few of these comments look
    as if they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites,
    I’d like to keep up with you. Could you make a list of all of
    your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  25. 25 Chemist Direct Healthcare Products May 8, 2014 at 2:44

    I just like the helpful information you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here frequently.

    I’m fairly sure I will learn lots of new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the following!


  1. 1 Recontextualization of metadata – part 2: databases « Information Access Trackback on October 24, 2008 at 14:49

Leave a Reply

